!! COVID-19 Update for Greater Sydney.  Learning from home for schools from Tuesday 13 July. Get the latest COVID-19 advice.

Visit the NSW Department of Education for any emergency updates including school closures and notifications regarding coronavirus (COVID-19)

The school enjoys a good relationship with the community, and has established a parent partnership program for Years 7-10.  The aim of the partnership is to strengthen the home school relationship and encourage student wellbeing. Parents join the senior executive once a term for breakfast and discussion on issues of mutual educational interest.

Topics discussed are often related to our student wellbeing program, which is age specific.  Various guest speakers are invited, and have included The Australian Federal Police talking on cyber safety, and staff speaking on their areas of expertise, as well as seminars on mental health issues, adolescent development, gaming, and gifted and talented education. Parent input into potential seminar topics ensures the relevance and utility of the program.

 

Year 7

Year 8 and 9

Year 10

Year 11 and 12

Term 1, Week 5

Term 1 Week 5

Term 1, Week 5

Term 1, Week 5

Monday 22 February

RSVP:  Wednesday 17 February

Tuesday 23 February

RSVP:  Wednesday 17 February

Wednesday 24 February

RSVP:  Thursday 18 February

Thursday 25 February

RSVP:  Thursday 18 February

Meet the Team and School Curriculum. 

Senior Executive and Nathan Ngan

Metacognitive Skills for Adolescent Learners.

Kirk Grinham, DP

Work Experience:  What Parents Should Know. 

Jerry Mouzakis, Careers Adviser

HSC Preparation.

Kirk Grinham, DP

Term 2, Week 5

Term 2, Week 5

Term 2, Week 5

Term 2, Week 6

Monday 17 May

RSVP:  Wednesday 12 May

Monday 17 May

RSVP:  Wednesday 12 May

Wednesday 19 May

RSVP:  Thursday 13 May

Thursday 27 May

RSVP:  Thursday 20 May

Sentral and BYOD @ Tech.

Paul Copeland, HT Technology

Sentral and BYOD @ Tech.

Paul Copeland, HT Technology

Academic Advisers, Subject Selection, and HSC Minimum Standards Testing Information

Jerry Mouzakis, Careers Adviser and Genya Sugowdz HT Teaching and Learning & Languages

University Pathways and Scholarships

Jerry Mouzakis, Careers Adviser

Term 3, Week 5

Term 3, Week 5

Term 3, Week 5

Term 3, Week 5

TBA

 

TBA

 

Wednesday 11 August

RSVP:  Thursday 5 August

Thursday 12 August

RSVP:  Thursday 5 August

ThinkUKnow Presentation on Cyber Safety/Cyber Bullying.

Australian Federal Police

ThinkUKnow Presentation on Cyber Safety/Cyber Bullying.

Australian Federal Police

The Thriving Senior Student. 

Nick Stokes

HT Wellbeing

Stress Management

School Counsellor

Term 4, Week 5

Term 4, Week 5

Term 4, Week 5

Term 4, Week 5

Monday 1 November

RSVP:  Wednesday 27 October

Tuesday 2 November 

RSVP:  Wednesday 27 October

Wednesday 3 November

RSVP:  Thursday 28 October

Thursday 4 November

RSVP:  Thursday 28 October

Giftedness at Sydney Technical High School

Genya Sugowdz, HT Teaching and Learning & Languages

Gaming and Adolescence

Kirk Grinham, DP

Tips for Parents of Future Senior Students. 

Genya Sugowdz, HT Teaching and Learning & Languages, and Prefects

Supporting your Son in Year 12

Nick Stokes, Counsellor, and Cheryl Steel -

Year 12 Adviser 2022

Attachments:
Download this file (2018 NAPLAN advice for parents.pdf)NAPLAN advice for parents[2018 changes in HSC Minimum Standards testing, The ongoing importance of NAPLAN, What the exams looks like/ when, What the school is doing to drive excellence, What you can do at home to help your boys]713 kB
Download this file (CURICULLUM AT STHS.pdf)CURICULLUM AT STHS[information for year 7 parents]3504 kB

Publications

Looking for a particular STHS publication? Click here to see a range of downloads including our monthly newsletter Tech Talk, the Annual School Report and the School Plan.

Publications

"Every individual has the right to realise himself: that is to fully develop the power and capacities, physical, mental, moral and spiritual; with which nature endowed him."

 − JA Williams, 1912 (first Principal of Sydney Technical High School)